List of Sports Awards in Uindia

of 4
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
Related Documents
  Introduction In India sports awards are presented by the Government of India to athletes and sports persons for their accomplishments and outstanding performances in the various fields of sports. Initially, the Indian Government used to grant these awards to the athletes and sports persons for their excellent performances in all types of sport competitions. But, since 2001, the Sports awards are given only in those events that fall under the Olympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship or the World Cup and also in Cricket. The awards are also given for the National level competitions and for Sports intended for the Physically Challenged. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna  ( RGKR ) is India’s highest honour give n for achievement in sports, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India. [1]  The words Khel Ratna literally mean sports gem in Hindi. The award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, former  Prime Minister of India. It carries a medal, a scroll of honour and a substantial cash component. Up to 2004  – 05, the cash component was Rs. 500,000/- ( c. 11,500 USD). In 2005, the money has been increased from Rs. 500,000 to Rs. 750,000. [2][3][4]  The award was instituted in the year 1991  – 92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports. Predating the RGKR are the  Arjuna awards that have always been given to outstanding sportspersons in each  of many sporting disciplines every year. The Khel Ratna was devised to be an overarching honour, conferred for outstanding sporting performance, whether by an individual or a team, across all sporting disciplines  in a given year.  Arjuna Awards The Arjuna Awards were established by the Indian Government in 1961 for the excellent performance by the sportspersons in various events. The award holds a cash prize of INR 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll. The Government has recently modified the format of the award. As per revised guidelines, a sportsperson  must have a constant excellent performance for the previous three years at international level to be eligible for the award, along with extraordinary qualities like leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline. Dronacharya Award   instituted in 1985, the Dronacharya Award is presented by the Indian Government for brilliance in sports coaching. The award consists of a bronze figurine of Dronacharya, a cash price of Rupees 500,000 and a scroll of honor. Since the best sportsperson award is named Arjuna Award, it would be appropriate that the best coaching award is named Dronacharya, the Guru of Arjuna   Dronacharya Award  is an award presented by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India for excellence in sports coaching. [1][2]  The award comprises a bronze statuette of  Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of Rs.500,000. The award was instituted in 1985. [3]   As the best sportsperson award is named  Arjuna Award, it is appropriate that the coaching award is named after  Dronacharya, as he was the teacher of   Arjuna. B.I. Fernandez is the first foreign coach to be awarded Dronacharya Award.  Dhyan Chand Award Dhyan Chand Award  is India's highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India. [1]  The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player  Dhyan Chand. The award was initiated in 2002. [1]  The award carries a cash prize of  INR 500,000, a plaque and a scroll of honour. In August 2013, 4 individuals were awarded the Dhyan Chand Award: Syed Ali (Hockey), Mary D'Souza (Sequeira) (Athletics), Anil Maan (Wrestling) and Giriraj Singh (Para-Sports). [2]  The Dhyan Chand Award is the highest lifetime achievement award in sports and games in India and is presented by the Indian Government. Initiated in 2002, the award bears a cash prize of INR 500,000 rupees, a figurine, ceremonial dress and a scroll of honor. It is named after the renowned Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. Kolanka Cup Kolanka Cup  is a polo trophy awarded in the Indian. According to the Guinness Book of World Records, it is the tallest sports trophy in the world .It is named after the  Maharaja of   Kolanka [1]  HH Maharaja Saheb Meharban-I-Dostan Raja Sri Rajah Rao Pradyumna Krishna Mahipati Suryarao Bahadur who got it made in 1936.He himself was a polo player and had his own team the Kolanka team.The  Maharaja  of   Kolanka . was the 4th  maharajkumar   of   venkatagiri   i.e he was the fourth son of the 29th  Maharaja  of   Venkatagiri   and the grandson of  Rajagopala Krishna Yachendra of Venkatagiri and was adopted by the childless  Maharani   of   Kolanka . The Kolanka Cup stands 6 feet tall and is made out of pure silver. When it comes to sports trophies, most competitors are more concerned with winning them than with appreciating their legacy. And in polo this is particularly true, especially when the importance of competitions at which polo trophies are presented is not always reflected in how big, beautiful or impressive the prizes might be. Size for one, is irrelevant for polo prizes. The Queen's Cup  –  traditionally presented by Her Majesty The Queen at Guards Polo Club to the winners of England's second most important tournament  –  is the sort of small, plain silver bowl one might find filled with bon-bons on a sideboard in a stately home.This discreet royal prize is dwarfed by the  six-foot tall Kolanka Cup, awarded to the winners of a humble competition in Madras. Donated by the Raja of Kolanka between the wars(late 1920s or early 1930s), the cup is marked by the Guinness Book of Records as the world's largest sports trophy. While the Queen's Cup won't even hold a full bottle of celebratory champagne, it would take more than 27 bottles of bubbly to fill the giant Indian trophy.This shows the honor,class and liking of the game by Indian Royals. The Kolanka Cup towers above even the Coronation Cup, the last match for the Kolanka Cup is said to have been played in 1998.Since then towering Cup has been stored.Thousand and thousands of polo fans look forward to the day that it will be played again,which is not faraway. Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award The Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award , is an award given by the Government of Punjab for excellence and achievement   in the service of Punjab in the field of  Sport. This can be at the Olympic level, World Championship level, national and   other international sporting arenas. The award was instituted in 1978 it consists of a trophy of  Maharaja Ranjit Singh,    honouree citation and 1 lakh Rupees. First person in history to win the Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award was Olympian Pargat Singh. [1]  The award was suspended for 10 years between 1996 to 2005 and initiated again in 2006. [2]  However, in 2006 the award was given to individuals where it was backdated from 1997 to 2004 so no potential winner lost their chance to win the award.
We Need Your Support
Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

No, Thanks