Instruction manuals

Spell Chess Print & Play - Kickstarter Edition

Published
of 10
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
Related Documents
Share
Description
The Kickstarter Edition Rules for use with Spell Chess
Transcript
  ` Print & Play - Version 2 (Updated May 24, 2014) Exclusive for Backers Instructions:1. Print pages 4 - 10 to access the 52 standard cards and the 12 exclusive Kickstarter cards.2. Print 7 copies o page 3 (card backs) - optional.3. Using a standard poker-sized card sleeves and standard poker cards, cut out the cards and place them in the sleeves.4. Enjoy and thank you!- Doug Chadwick   ` 2 Players, Ages 3+, 15 minutes Game Design:  Doug Chadwick  Game Development:  Doug Chadwick, Benj Hamilton Graphic Design:  Dan McCollum Components (Chess Set Not Included) Basic Set 54 Cards1 Rules Booklet Setup Shuffle the Spell Chess deck and place near the Chessboard where both players have access to it. Gameplay  Begin Chess as normal. Whenever you capture an opponent’s piece, reveal the top card o the Spell Chess Deck. You choose to place the card in ront o yoursel or your opponent.A player may only have 1 card in ront o them at a time. I a card would be placed in ront o a player with a card, the existing card is discarded.Te card in ront o a player affects that player unless otherwise stated on the card. Game Ending  Te game ends when a player cannot legally move their King out o check, or i the game reaches a stalemate as defined in the official Chess rules. Card Glossary  Treaten  - a piece is threatened i it could be captured by an opponent’s piece on their next move. A piece is threatening another piece or board space i it is able to capture that piece, or a piece on that board space, on its next move. When a piece is threat-ening a king, that king is in check. Normal Move  - the normal move o a piece is its standard movement under the offi-cial rules o Chess. Sideways  - i a piece can move sideways, it can move to the lef or right as many spac-es as it could normally. Starting Position  - the starting position o a piece is any square on the board where a piece o that type and color could have begun the game. It does not necessarily have to be the exact space where that piece started the game. Challenge Coin  - a challenge coin is a metal disc that signifies a rank in the military, or a special engagement or event. A challenge is made by presenting a coin, and is answered by the other player presenting a coin. For the purposes o Spell Chess, an individual coin may only be presented once during the game. FAQs Q: I I reveal a card and put it into play and it causes my opponent to be in check, are they still in check?A: Yes, and you should announce it at that time as needed per the official Chess rules.Q: I I reveal a card and put it into play and it causes me to be in check what hap-pens?A: You can’t put yoursel into check per the official rules o Chess, thereore, you can-not play a card in such a way that it places you into check. I you reveal a card and cannot play it legally (so that you aren’t in check) the game ends in a stalemate.Q: What i I reveal a card and do not want to play it on either player, can I discard it instead?A: No, you must play the card in ront o one o the players.Q: I I remove a piece rom the board, do I get to reveal a new card? What about i a card is discarded?A: No, removing a piece rom the board is not the same as capturing a piece. You may only reveal a new card when you capture a piece, or i a card tells you to.Q: I a piece cannot be captured, may I still move my piece onto its space?A: No, you may only move a piece to a space i that space will be unoccupied at the end o the move.
We Need Your Support
Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

No, Thanks